So I'm pretty new to the world of recording, i used to just put a mic next to my amp and record it with audacity, this lead to pretty bad sound quality. Recently i purchased this...

http://www.guitarcenter.com/M-Audio-MXL-990-991-Recording-Mic-Duo-and-M-Audio-AudioBuddy-Package-703626-i1173655.gc

I'm just wondering using this, audacity, and my computer(as well as what ever wires are needed) how do i get the best sound quality, for guitar, bass, drums and vocals
I would use analog, imho. digital doesn't give you as pure of a sound because it just takes a million samples and puts them together. while analog will record it as is. it also tends to have a warmer sound than digital.
Are you using the stock sound card? how are you going into the computer?

Quote by guitardude34875
I would use analog, imho. digital doesn't give you as pure of a sound because it just takes a million samples and puts them together. while analog will record it as is. it also tends to have a warmer sound than digital.

Are you serious dude? Your advising him to buy a hard disk recorder? You're forgetting that there is basically no editing functions on analog recorders. Plus they cost double the amount that you would need to spend on a basic computer setup to get a much better sound thats much more versatile. Not to mention the fact that you wont gain any practical knowledge from learning on analog equipment, you wont find a studio in western civilisations that have used hard disks in the last 5-10 years, because they're completely obsolete, and a waste of money.
Last edited by f*ck 0ff at Jul 10, 2008,
Quote by f*ck 0ff
Are you using the stock sound card? how are you going into the computer?