Hey people.

Lately when I have been playing, whenever I would mute a note after playing it and move onto another string, the string before the one I started playing on would start vibrating/humming.

My explanation is crap, so here is an example.

I am playing Paranoid by Black Sabbath. I play E (799) 3 times, and then when I go to play those hammer-ons that go "A7h9-D7h9-A7h9-D7h9" The first string (E) starts vibrating and making this really annoying humming noise.

What are ways to either prevent this or stop this? Ususally when I play the power chords (in example) I push my pointer finger up a little bit against that string to mute that string, but I am not sure if the releasing of my finger causes it.

I might be answering my own noob-question, but I am not sure. I need your opinion
since nobody replied..

maybe your frets are buzzing it?
thats when the string touches your frets and makes it buzz
I see you're not using the UG black theme

Originally posted by GOD
akm_202, i now announce you, king of awesome. You may bow down to me.
either ur finger and/or pickhand is touching the other string in some way or u kind of pulled it off after you muted it.

i sometimes do the same thing in muting the upper string with my index while playing on the lower strings. if you hit it a certain way you could be makin a harmonic sound.
Quote by Weeping_Demon7
I, sir, salute you!

Epiphone sg
behringer gmx1200h
MY MINI V BUILD!!!
Alright people

I tried again this morning, but this time without my finger muting the first string. The string still vibrated, even when I didn't touch it at all.

I think the frets are buzzing it, but I don't know how to prevent that but I will try just keeping the tips of my fingers farther away from the first string.

If you know how to prevent the frets from buzzing it, please post.
Learn to mute?