I just started learning to sweep pick. When I play a note on the 12th fret, after I play the note, I get a harmonic. How do I stop playing the harmonic? When I don't play the harmonic i play the open string. Please help me!

EDIT: Look at post 8 for more information on my sweep picking problem!
Last edited by kilbie at Jul 11, 2008,
are you sure that its just not ringing. try to mute it after you play.

i dont know what else you can do cos i dont really have thta problem sry
Since you haven't told us what notes are preceeding or following the one at the 12th fret I am just gonna take a wild guess and say that you are barring a couple of strings and aren't rolling your finger as you sweep so you're getting a harmonic instead of a muted note.

Edit: Check out Youtube there are plenty of sweep lessons that show you how to roll and mute correctly as you sweep pick.
Quote by dale-banez

my gear:
oh wait, no one cares

Quote by uncboy19
man all guitars are female. if they werent you couldn't make sweet love to them with your fingers. ok somebody better quote that ****. thats like quantum guitar **** rite there.
Use the palm of your picking hand and try to mute it out. Like, as your finger is switching strings, follow behind with your palm and mute each string out to stop the note from ringing. More info would help though.
Quote by caraluzzo
Use the palm of your picking hand and try to mute it out. Like, as your finger is switching strings, follow behind with your palm and mute each string out to stop the note from ringing. More info would help though.

uhmm i can't do that. i'd have to curl my picking hand to do that, and it would probably hurt my wrist bad. that's not what he has to achieve.

what you should do this play the arpeggio slowly and get used to that kind of motion. that's the only way you will improve. play at a slow enough speed that you are sure you can play it clean.