Hey, ive been playing for around 2 years and seriously over the last 3 months. I got a band and me and the drummer would jam and were really good so i started to write some original material. I got a riff that kinda sounded like the "Fell in love with a girl" guitar riff but its different. well now we got a singer and we want to join the local band scene, but it turns out that most of the stuff ive written so far isn't the right style there looking for. They want a pop/punk/indie rock sound and im like...um ya i listen to zeppelin and steve vai. so ive been coming up with new stuff but i can't really get out of my classic rock sound. And i don't know what kind of bands to listen too to get get ideas of the kind of sound they want. This is the pretty much top band in our area. and when we watched them play they were like "we wanna play like this" so check out there myspace http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendid=82748724 and thats the kinda genre im trying to go for. I think they use alot of octaves but im not sure. Any tips on how to make the progressions more modern and less classic rockish please help
Ps. my first post on UG hope u guys can help
First off, why would you change your style to suit what other people want. If you don't want to play it or if you don't feel comfortable playing it, don't play it! Play what you love dude
omfg...where do you live? I wanna live where you do cause we play pop/punk/indie but they don't want that so much around here xD
1. You're surfing the internet.
2. You're browsing through the UG forums.
3. You're reading now.
5. You didn't notice that there was no #4.
6. You just checked it.
7. Now you're having a lil smile.

Quote by hawk_kst
You Sir, have the best signature like ever!
Quote by mikerev
First off, why would you change your style to suit what other people want. If you don't want to play it or if you don't feel comfortable playing it, don't play it! Play what you love dude