Hey, I was stupid enough to buy a Fender FM 212R 100w amp. The distortion on that sounds horrible...

Anyway I was hoping a decent pedal will give me a bit better tone using the fairly good clean channel on my amp, I was thinking along the lines of a Metal Muff, Metal Zone, Metalcore pedal.

The bands I play are...BFMV, Atreyu, A7x, Billy Talent, Cancer Bats.

I don't have the option of going to a store to test them and I'll have to order it online, so I was hoping someone here would have experience with some pedals around the $200 AUD mark. Note: Australian Dollars.

Thanks in advance

Ps. My guitar is an Ashton starter guitar. I really want to upgrade it (I've been playing it for 5 years) but UG keeps telling me to buy a new amp instead. I only bought the fender amp not long ago so I'd rather get some use out of it...

Pps. My current pedal is a Zoom 505 II multi effects. It sounds really bad no matter how much i change settings. The tone is something like playing over a handheld radio.
Last edited by Platinumcs at Jul 14, 2008,
change ur amp. just b/c it's new doesn't mean you HAVE to hold on to it till you can't return it anymore...that's dumb.

and you already don't like the OD tones....so that's NOT gonna change w/ time. your ears have already told you the amp's limits as far as tone goes and that restricts it mostly to cleans. sell ur amp and fund yourself for a randall RG50 i say. don't try to polish a turd....it's gonna cost you money that isn't worth it. suffer w/ your tone for just a lil bit till you can finance an RG50.

you need to move past the distortion pedal into clean SS channel phase and into the OD pedal into overdriven tube amp phase. you'll love your tone i promise.
My MAIN Gear
*Dunlop CFH
*fellow LEO feel free to give a shout out
Has it been to long to return the amp. If it hasn't just return it. If it is to old sell it on ebay and pick up something like a used Roland Cube 30. The amp is alot more key to achieving tones then the guitar is.