Ok so I've been playing for a couple of years now and play just about anything that sounds cool from metal to bluesy stuff. I already own an Ibanez SA260 which is an amazing guitar and covers the harder, but also the soft part of my musical taste. Now my favourite band is the Red Hot Chili Peppers and I love playing stuff by them but also enjoy playing stuff by Foo Fighters, Bloc Party, Hendrix and so on. Now I'm going over to the states (I live in Switzerland) for a few weeks in summer and since the exchange rate is soooo low i can't resist not buying a guitar because they're like doubled the price where I live. Yeah so I'm kinda looking for a guitar that will give me that chrunchy, aggressive clean sound that John Frusciante has on pretty much all of the albums at one point, but that you can alos hear in dave grohls guitar work or bloc party. They all have that clean tone that I'm looking for. So my question to UG is what guitar could I get that would give me that tone with a budget of about 600-700 dollars? Oh and if it helps I have a Randall VMX 30 Amplifier.

Thanks in advance
MIM strat, although it having only 21 frets pisses me off, its has a GREAT feel and tone.
Gibson SG Standard
Ibanez S2170FB
Peavey JSX
Marshall 1960A
TEXAS A&M
MIM Strat is a good option, but you could just roam the second hand shops with guitars and find a nice Fender / Fender Squier made in Japan. I'm a big fan of Japanese instruments and recommend them to everyone - they are cheap and as good as Highway One stratocasters (if not better).

If you want to get this aggressive, slightly dirty clean sound of Frusciante, it's more a matter of amp than the guitar. Your Randall is SS amp, I think, so it isn't really that good for RHCP tone; you want a tube amp, set on the edge of the break-up. For 700 bucks you could easily buy a cheap tube AND a guitar, you simply have to find the right ones.
Well im assuming the Ibanez has HB's on it so get something with singles (like hendrix etc)