Page 1 of 2
Hello everyone, I just have a few questions here and a little about my play style or so. I apoligize if this is the wrong forum(thread_ to place this topic. I am a beginner-intermed player and i have some moderate gear for beginning. I have a fender stratocaster with Ernie Ball super slinky's (gives me good tone and are bright) and a 15 watt starter amp.

I've read alot about theory and practice, I've also read about different techniques and I'm learning legato, sweep picking, and alt strumming (along with economy picking). I've made up my mind of becoming expert at legato (love applying that to my style of music) and would like some hints on how to get better at that, but first is there an easier way to take in all this information? I have a friend that has been playing for 5 years with a neo-classical play style and has told me to learn the chords and modes (he is self taught with a bit of theory) i have theory (a little) from learning saxophone so i know about half rests full rests and etc, i learned all about scales and increasing speed with a metronome. Right now though i seem to be in a rut, i have no idea how to apply proper practice for legato and scales. My guitar play style is metal so does anyone have any ideas or opinions they can use to help me out a bit? if you need anymore about my play style or current skill feel free to ask.

Sorry if this seems a bit mumbled from anyone's prospective, ill try to do more research on legato and improving as a guitar player for now.
Is there a way I can benefit the "sounding good" end with only good legato/tapping and ok strumming? I think if i can train my strumming hand to at least 120 bm and keep it in sync with my fretting hand i think it will be good for now. What do you think?

Edited: I'm saying this because i don't think i can become a really good strummer
Quote by Mix Master