I am a student doing a product study on bass guitar bodies.
I am trying to find out which material bass bodies do people to prefer to play.
The two materials a i am looking at inperticular are hardened acrylic bass bodies (See trhoguh bass bodies) and alder wood bass bodies.
If you could give me your thoughts back on whih material you prefer and why it would be a great help to my study.
Simon Martin
...this is all in the realm of specific needs. A player seeking a certain tone requires the body wood that produces that tone. A player seeking extra attention and a herniated disk requires hardened acrylic.

edit* if you're really conducting research here (and I'd triple check the UG rules over if market research is allowed in any way shape or form--I have serious suspicions.) then a poll might be nice attached to this thread.
Last edited by dullsilver_mike at Jul 14, 2008,
Well alders pretty common but people aren't going to pick it over say bubinga or even maple sometimes, its entirely down to tone!

and Acrylic is a bit gimmicky imho
Cort lover of the Bass Militia. PM Nutter_101 to join.
On cheating in a relationship...

Quote by metaldud536
If he doesn't use a gameshark, it's not cheating.

I'm a non-regular regular old user.
Quote by IndieMetalhead
Well alders pretty common but people aren't going to pick it over say bubinga or even maple sometimes, its entirely down to tone!

and Acrylic is a bit gimmicky imho

+1 the wood depends on the bassist and that Acrylic stuff is just made for show offs that try to make up for bad ability by there bass' looks.
Gear:

Musicman SUB 5
Ibanez SRX305
Ibanez GSR200
Ashdown MAG300 C115
Ashdown MAG 210 cab

Soon a Fender Deluxe Jazz V & an LTD 206
Quote by Deliriumbassist
^Acrylic basses do look flashy, but you can get good tone out of them.

Flashy basses and good tones never go hand in hand

<_<

>_>

Don't worry...i'm kidding!

Quote by metaldud536

This falls into the "personal opinion" category.