I have been playing guitar for about 3 months and I have learned many riffs, intros, and a few solos. So my question is should I now be learning entire songs? It's just that sometimes when I learn solos and riffs it seems so much more fun. It would be kinda cool a whole song though. How do you learn? Mainly riffs, solos, etc. or actual songs? By the way playing while standing is pretty damn hard!
Really it's not essential, if you really love a song then sure, learn it for fun, but really it doesn't matter that much. As long as your picking out parts that will improve your technique and give you new ideas. However learning particualrly long or strenuous songs is excellent for stamina, so go nuts
Quote by deanodon
you know your a man when youve asked your gran for nude pics

Quote by .smudged.
Sex is overrated, try World of Warcraft.

"One does not simply sweep A major 7!"
I have been playing now for nine months, and a while ago I had similar thoughts. I had learned a bunch of intros and riffs...lots of chord progressions but never an entire song front to back. I mean realistically I could have learned an entire song, but I didn't see it as something that I should do. I was not going to be playing shows...nor did I plan on recording etc...things that required knowing an entire song.

If you do want to learn an entire song, my natural progression was for me to go back to a song that I had learned the intro and solo for, then just fill in the rest. Nothing to hard, just something that I could do so I could get that sense of accomplishment.

Just do what you think is fun and then have more fun with it.

Cody
I usually learn the riffs, intros, and outros... but I usually make up the solos and fill myself.

Sometimes, I challenge myself with very hard music, and I learn what I can while I'm interested (i.e. Robert Johnson's Crossroad's, Bach's Toccata and Fugue, Steve Vai's interpretation of Paganini's 5th Caprice)