hey guys.

um, well ive been playinga bout 4 years and up til now have just been trying to challenge myself with progressivly harder songs, playing faster, finger exercises, ect.

Ive got a basic understanding of music theory. well actually a pretty good understanding, but i guess i need to kind of apply that to guitar.

ive learned bazillions of chords, how to construct a chord and all, but on scales ive only learned basically the major, minor, and basic pentatonic scales.

now I want to start getting into improv and start bringing everything ive been working on for 4 years together. and so my question is....what are the best scales to start learning? like whats the best direction to go in and stuff?

and suggestions where to go? or any good scale books? any tips?

appreciate any responses.
Guitar is LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The best scales to begin learning are the major scale and then the minor and major pentatonic scales in that order. The major scale is the foundation of Western music, and the pentatonics are the most commonly scales used in rock-type music, though minor is far more prevalent than major. Yes, you said you knew them, but how well can you apply them and how well do you understand their construction?

Either way, where you want to go from here if you understand those scales well enough depends on your influences and what you want to play. So what would be your influences and style(s)?

I'd recommend against the "Guitar Grimoire" series other than to use them as reference books. They won't actually teach you about the structure and fundamental usage of the scales which is what you really need to understand. I'd sharpen your theory skills a bit using the sticky in this forum and The Complete Idiot's Guide to Music Theory so you understand how the scales are built. Use the "Grimoire" series for quick reference.
Quote by pinktie
A post posted by the good gentlemen known as pinktie