Hey. So I'm entering my junior year in high school and I'm thinking about what I want to prepare for my audition. As cliche as it is I'm into vaughn, hendrix, and the blues. I was thinking of maybe doing a transcription of hendrix with a kick ass solo because I feel that it's full of expression (dynamics, tempo, etc.)...but I don't want to come in and play a piece they've heard 100 times over. any suggestions?
do the intro to when i come around by green day
lol i have no idea
my 6 best friends:
Ibanez Artcore AF75
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser
LTD H-207 7 string
Ibanez Acoustic
thanks...? And if it helps. I'm confident in my music reading and my ear for the other parts of the audition. The thing is that I've heard it's stupid to come in there and audition with jazz if jazz isn't your thing. I talked to a guy that went there and he said to play in the style that you like. But, as far as jazz goes I'm okay...but I'm self taught at finger picking so I dunno how that'll play out.
Last edited by tin_tin at Jul 15, 2008,
Quote by tin_tin
thanks...? And if it helps. I'm confident in my music reading and my ear for the other parts of the audition.

Yes, that will help tons; a good ear and good sight reading ability (specifically the latter) will set you far ahead of so many guitarists it's amazing.

For jazz, a nice chord-melody piece never fails if you do it right. Again, what's your experience with jazz?
Quote by tin_tin
Hey. So I'm entering my junior year in high school and I'm thinking about what I want to prepare for my audition. As cliche as it is I'm into vaughn, hendrix, and the blues. I was thinking of maybe doing a transcription of hendrix with a kick ass solo because I feel that it's full of expression (dynamics, tempo, etc.)...but I don't want to come in and play a piece they've heard 100 times over. any suggestions?
As unorthodox as it sounds, I do not believe contempory styles of music shall help you in your auditions.