Well I started with the major scale and started with the A major scale. I figured it out and can play it in all five positions and can play it over 120 bpm. The thing is I never learned it backwards I can play it down but not up. And I started learning the B flat scale which is pretty much the same but until I really get a feel for how these work like in a solo Im not going to get much further. Does anyone have a tab of a solo that uses the A major scale? I bought a music theory book and read about how scales work and such but I just don't get how to turn the scales I learn into solos because when I play them it just sounds like a bunch of notes. I haven't quite figured out each note on the fretboard but I can do them starting from the beggining but I have to start at the bottom of the fretboard to tell you what each note is. Any help. IM getting discouraged a bit and im kinda giving up on scales for now.
by LazyLatinoRocke
At least you didn't walked in on your cousin and girlfriend going anal.
Hmm... a song for A major....Texas Flood uses the same shape. Me thinks. Only because it's tuned down a half step.
Winner of the 2011 Virginia Guitar Festival

Protools HD
Lynx Aurora 16/HD192
Mojave, Sennheiser, AKG, EV etc mics
Focusrite ISA828 pres
Waves Mercury
Random Rack Gear

65 Deluxe Reverb
PRS CE 22
American Standard Strat
Taylor 712
Quote by :-D
^F# minor, not A major.

Right. But it's the same shape. I know that's what it's called. But I was saying it because they are the same shape.

Protools HD
Lynx Aurora 16/HD192
Focusrite ISA828 pres
Waves Mercury
Random Rack Gear

65 Deluxe Reverb
PRS CE 22
American Standard Strat
Taylor 712
Hey, at least you're starting to understand the purpose of scales, to stay in key (and to solo). That's something you normally don't see in beginners. Most think they're just practice exercises.