well i'm playing for a year now(self taught btw) and think im not progressing anymore so i started to do some new techiniques, aswell building up my speed
so i was doing this:

E|-----------------------------------------1-2-3-4------- 

B|---------------------------------1-2-3-4---------------

G|-------------------------1-2-3-4----------------------- 

D|-----------------1-2-3-4-------------------------------

A|---------1-2-3-4--------------------------------------- 

E|-1-2-3-4-----------------------------------------------

is it good for practicing alternate picking and building up speed? and what speed do you recoomend to start with. andwhat would be a good goal to set in speed?

thnx

Edit: what are some other, fun but not to hard techniques to learn?
Quote by MightyAl
Isn't it odd, that Iron Man is a superhero, whereas "iron, woman!" is a command?

EAT MY ASS AND BALLS.
ok ya if your goin to be goin stuff like that, a metronose would be ideal. also dont just always do chromatic stuff. 1. because your only practising 4 a string picking patterns, find other things like the Am pentatonic and use that. it has 3 a strings and 2 a string. When your playing your not always doin 4 a string. Also do string skipping.
like ummm you might not be into metal but heres a song for you. its just for the idea thing. Empire by chimaira. it has a good alternate picking thing is the intro.first on the bottom two strings then on the d ang g. those are great. 2. if you just practise like 1 scale, your muscles will be so prone to playing it, everyone you play naturally with be based around that memory. So find different scales and stuff.
Umm Ya learn your scales and get a few simple backing tracks and kinda use those scales over it. but for speed and building up speed, learn your scales and write little things using 2 a string 3 a string and 4 a string picking patterns.

hope i helped. i ran into that problem a while ago. thats what my guitar teacher told me to do. :Cheers:
Gear: