Couldn't find any searchbar entries on this, so here goes:

I'm a guitarist who's getting into bass, so naturally, I suck right now.

Pickstyle sounds best to me, but it wears out my wrist pretty fast, and my picks just don't let me have good control of the strings, they feel flimsy. So, I've decided to give fingerstyle a try.

It gives my wrist a break, and I do feel like I have more control over the strings, but it sounds...choppy. The notes keep getting cut short, and it's not the smooth sound I want. Any practicing tips that will help me?
GHOST BLOWJOB!
WHOOO! WOOOOOOOOOOOO!
good choice u cant play bass with a pick its not right but i found learning hysteria by muse was a good way to imporve fingerstyle and other faster songs like that aswell..learning slightly harder things like that tend to make anything else u play feel easy
Practice slowly and focus on letting the notes ring. A common mistake for beginners is that as soon as they sound a note, they "choke" the note with the other finger anticipating playing the next one. The technique involves pulling up across, almost brushing the strings, rather than striking the string.
search for some classical guitar excercises and for cordination excercises.

something that helps the same way as it helps when playing with a pick is the 1234 excersice. also make the variations of 0234, 1034,1204,1230 and any thing in between. remember to always pluck the string with fingers 1 and 2 on your right hand (ndex and middle) and avoid to change this order.

check the steve vai workouts and practice that too, but with your fingers. also, to practice tremolo pickeing try this excercise: (in the tab, 1 means to pluck with the thumb, 2 means with the index, 3 means middle, and 4 the other one). this excercise must be first done slowly, so that you can clearly hear the four notes, and then start increasing speed with time.

1  4  3  2  1  4  3  2  1  4  3  2

-1--2--3--4--------------------------