I am a newbie, to say the least. I know probably 15 chords, maybe 20. I have recently had my teacher request that I find a song that I can play all the way through. Then play the bejesus out of it! He assures me that there are plenty of songs out there that I could find that will not only challenge, but teach me at the same time. I dont doubt this.
I can read most tab. I have several tablature books on various artists already. Some of those are hard to keep up with though.
Anyway, my question to you all is this, "Can you suggest a song for me to start learning that is not entirely difficult, but still challenging?"
wish you were here by pink floyd.

its in the key of G major, the chord progression is G C D a minor i think they're might be an a minor in there im not too sure but its great example of G major.
"Member of the UG Pink Floyd Fan club PM stonegolem13 or nick dixon to join

love The Evil Dead films? Join my group: http://groups.ultimate-guitar.com/boomstick/

Quote by pepsi1187
not to mention herbert from family guy will touch you in your sleep
smells like teen spirit

twas my first
Bands I've Seen:
Ozzy Osbourne
Rob Zombie
In This Moment
Age of Daze
Blue October
Inward Eye
Thornley
Billy Talent
Rise Against
Rancid
Anvil
Theory of a Deadman
Shinedown
Pop Evil
Blink 182
All-American Rejects
Fallout Boy
what about some AC/DC or Beatles tunes?
Quote by metalcore123
I hate trying to cover up my cheese in school because the bimbo next to me dislikes the smell of pure love.

I'm bringing farts back!
smoke on the water...or most acoustic songs.
1. You're surfing the internet.
2. You're browsing through the UG forums.
3. You're reading now.
5. You didn't notice that there was no #4.
6. You just checked it.
7. Now you're having a lil smile.

Quote by hawk_kst
You Sir, have the best signature like ever!
"oh, pretty woman" by roy orbison

i has a nice riff, and you can play it in front of people and they will admire you. it is pretty simple.