I'm just starting to learn to play the electric guitar, and am picking one out. I went to two music stores today.

One guy recommended a Godin Freeway for more versatility, and I went to the other store and really liked the Fender Stratocasters they had there.

I like Hendrix, Stevie Ray Vaughn, Nirvana, and a little bit of Metal.

What should I get?
you can do metal with a strat, just make sure its a fat strat (humbucker in bridge). That would be my choice
Gibson SG Standard
Ibanez S2170FB
Peavey JSX
Marshall 1960A
TEXAS A&M
If you're just starting with your first electric guitar, I really recommend buying a Squier Strat bundle or an Epi Les Paul bundle. Both nice starter guitars, and once you get better on playing with one of those, buy a better one (if your wallet allows you to do so )
If your life was a song, would you sing my name?
yamaha pacifica 112v been voted loads of times as the best guitar in its price range, and known for versatility and comfort, give it a look.
My Beginner setup:
Ibanez rg321mh
Roland Micro cube
you can do metal with a strat, just make sure its a fat strat (humbucker in bridge). That would be my choice

+1 Godins are excellent guitars. The Freeway with its humbucker in the bridge will get you into hard rock & metal territory.

I think fat strat-style guitars (humbucker at the bridge + 2 single coils at the neck and middle) are extremely versatile guitars for beginners who may want to play a broad range of music.

Another well-regarded starter guitar is the Yamaha Pacifica 112. They use good wood and are well-made. They are a fat strat: they come with a humbucker at the bridge and two single coils. In Canada they cost ~$250 new, about 1/2 the cost of a Made-in-Mexico strat, or 1/3 to 1/4 the cost of an American strat.

Happy guitar shopping!
Have you thought about an amplifier? I'd recommend a small digital practice amp to get you started & familiar with different tones & effects.