a multi channel amp. Iwas wondering if I bought a multi fx pedal like the digitech 250/350 would they simulate a multi channel amp. where i would be able to go from clean to gain to another effect just by hitting one of the pedals on the unit. I'm new to this and dont quite understand how they work
Get an overdrive pedal. With the OD pedal off, you'll have a clean sound, turn it on, you'll have dirty sound. Just like having a clean channel and an OD channel
Stage Rig

Fender Strat
Epi Les Paul
Taylor 110
Boss TU-2
Omega Amps Hot Rod Deluxe (Dumble mod)
Clean/Drive/More Drive footswitch
Mid boost/Preamp boost footswitch

myspace.com/rosscooperband
Quote by chris6666
a multi channel amp. Iwas wondering if I bought a multi fx pedal like the digitech 250/350 would they simulate a multi channel amp. where i would be able to go from clean to gain to another effect just by hitting one of the pedals on the unit. I'm new to this and dont quite understand how they work

Which amp is it?
A dwarf might hear you. What then?

My Music
Quote by timi_hendrix
Which amp is it?

MiA crate v1512 no effect loop, just one input
Distortion pedal, OD pedal (if you just want a slightly dirty sound), multi-FX pedal, or the cheapest option of them all, your volume pot.
Ibanez RGA121 | ESP LTD H-1000
Axe-FX Standard
If you want to make it into a real multi-channel amp, then you will have to have the shcematic, some relayes (or switch; I still have to figure that out myself), a soldergun, and tube electronics knowledge.

But unless you are an absolute tube freak, I find that even just placing a Metal Muff in front of my Blues Junior is enough to turn it into a High Gain Marshall (True, I mod it, but still only one channel). With proper volume setting, Metal Muff can turn your one channel amp into a multi channel amp.
Ibanez SA-120 (ed.2006)
BluesJr 1996-B + cathode follower + texas Heat
Crate CPB150
Homemade 4 x 10 cab Bass closeback
Metal Muff