Hi everyone

I'm a beginner learning to play the acoustic and electric guitar, mainly acoustic though. I am using the Jamorama course (www.jamorama.com). I have trouble playing the A Major chord (http://www.jamplay.com/guitar-chords/a-major-guitar-chord.html) on the acoustic but it sounds better on the electric.

My problem is that the 3rd string buzzes when I place my first finger on it, no matter how hard I press it. Any ideas?

I have a simple acoustic guitar..not from a reputed or known company but some random company from China or Korea..not sure. Its called a "Jimm Acoustic Guitar".

Also, I have some trouble playing the D Major chord too, especially placing the 3rd finger properly on the 2nd string. Plus, switching chords isn't happening properly enough, even though I've been trying for a month or more.

Thanks in advance.
Jimm K1BS Acoustic
Ibanez 2008 RGR421EXFM
Marshall MG10CD 10W Combo Amp
Paxma 100W Amplifier
Homebrew 120W Amplifier
For your 3rd string buzzing, that may be fret buzz which means you'd have the have it properly set up to get rid of it.

And practice practice and did I mention.... practice. Keep on playing until it hurts then play some more. It'll come naturally eventually.
Schecter C-1 Elite
Gretsch 5120
Fender Ultra-Chorus Amp
it will come with time if it is your fingers..

as for the buzzing sound no matter how hard you push down, that shows that your neck is warped.. the guitar is at fault not you.. Go to guitarcenter and pick up a low end acoustic for less than 100 bucks..
My Guitars:
Gibson Les Paul Studio
Epiphone AJ
Ibanez Strat Copy

Amps:
Orange Tiny Terror Head
Old beaten up Peavey cab
Marshall MG30DFX
Thanks everyone.

PS--If I press too hard on the 3rd string, fingers begin to hurt, but the sound improves. But that means its so hard I can only play A Major :-P.
Jimm K1BS Acoustic
Ibanez 2008 RGR421EXFM
Paxma 100W Amplifier
Homebrew 120W Amplifier