My band is playing a gig on august 30th, it's our first one. It's a smaller venue, and I'm sure the size amps we have will suffice (The owner even spoke against mic-ing the drums). They have an in-house PA, and we have one as well. We usually only run our PA system through the monitors, so all we have is vocals in them. How will this affect our sound, and is there some way that we should run the vocals through the in-house PA as well, so our vocals will go through the stage speakers? I am at a loss for what to do, and I don't want to be ill-prepared for this performance, so if anyone could offer some advice or help of any kind on my situation, I would greatly appreciate it. thanks.

EDIT: I forgot to mention, we don't have a mixer, and as far as i can remember, there is no in-house sound guy at the venue.
Last edited by jtdogg504 at Jul 17, 2008,
well im not an expert but i'll give u my opinion...smaller places often echo alot (more so from the drums) not putting mics on the drums may be a good idea but at the same time u wont get the sound quallity as normall. .i personally have vocal amps strictly for the vocals, sometimes i'll run a guitar through them but not to often. as long at the vocals can be heard without to much feedback and other crap that comes with vocals, and the drums dont drown out the rest of your band i think you should be fine. just take it as it comes...you wont really know untill you start setting up and doing sound checks. after that u can make final decisions weather or not to leave and take out equipment.. hope that helps you some, and good luck.