Page 1 of 2
Anybody else here play the sax?
I mean, guitar is awesome and all, but don't you think we need other instrument forums?

Anyways, if any of you play the sax, any sax, talk about it here.

I play Alto, and I'm far better at it than I am at guitar.

Any takers?
Quote by Smokey Amp
Aren't all voiceovers performed by Morgan Freeman?

I thought that was like a law or something.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T1KI2Bxcx8M
^^^^ Please watch this! we need more views to win $20 000!
I play Alto and Tenor, I've been playing for almost 10 years opposed to 9 months of Bass, so I am a much better saxophonist than bassist. I guess I can brag about this, I'm in the Univeristy of Alabama Million Dollar Marching Band.
I'm definitely going to learn the sax when (if) I get a job and some MONEYS.

What's a good price for a decent starter sax, tenor let's say.....or is better to start on an alto sax?
i used to play tenor sax
Gear:
Musicman Stingray 4 string HH
Tech 21 Sansamp Para Driver
Ampeg V-4B
Ampeg SVT-212AV 2x12

Gibson SG Standard
Vox AC15
Keeley compressor
Keeley Dark Side
Boss RC-2 Loop
Korg Pandora
Crybaby Wah
Quote by Novacane...
I'm definitely going to learn the sax when (if) I get a job and some MONEYS.

What's a good price for a decent starter sax, tenor let's say.....or is better to start on an alto sax?

A yahama YAS23 is the most popluar starting saxophone
well, i'm glad SOME people are taking this thread seriously. And that's pretty sweet about the marching band. We don't have many marching bands up here in Canada, that I'm aware of, but i know how serious you guys take it in the USA. Personally, i'm more oriented in jazz sax, and wanna pursue that as a career choice..
Quote by Smokey Amp

tenor and alto aren't too different, it's just, if you plan on playing in a band, tenor's usually get stuck with rhythm parts, and alto's are usually lead.
Quote by Smokey Amp

Then get your ass of Ultimate-Guitar and go to Ultimate-Saxaphone
GEAR
Epiphone SG-400