Okay, this is it: How do different value pots effect the tone of your guitar? Like, are 500k pots more bassy than 250k ones or whatever? And does that effect change depending on whether they're used as volume or tone controls?
Feel free to ignore my ranting.

Member of the Self-Taught Club.

A recent study shows that 8% of teenagers listen to nothing but music with guitars in it. Put this in your sig if you're one of the 92% who isn't a close-minded moron.
Excuse my blasphemy but what is a pot?
Jackson King V KVX10
Line 6 Spider III 75 W.
Peavey 5150/6505 Combo to be owned at the end of 2010.
pot is short for potentiometer, aka variable resistor. they're the volume and tone controls.

my understanding is that for higher output pickups, you need higher value pots to stop the sound from getting too muddy. basically, the higher the value, the brighter the sound.
http://sheepshape.co.uk

Gretsch White Falcon

Fender Volume-Tone
TC Electronic Polytune
Digitech Whammy
Vox V847-A
Ibanez TS9
Menatone Red Snapper
Marshall EH1
Boss DD7
Boss CE5
GLX NG100
EHX Cathedral
Vox AC15CC1
George L's
EBow
Thank you for the one intelligent reply...

A recent study shows that 8% of teenagers listen to nothing but music with guitars in it. Put this in your sig if you're one of the 92% who isn't a close-minded moron.
Okay, cool, so why do Jaguars have 1 meg pots? Surely that'd make them sound way too bright?

Well, because Leo Fender is a madman.

And they are very bright.

I imagine the reason they're not unbearable is due to a few things:
1 - Different scale length. I believe Jags are of 24" scale, whereas normal Fenders are of 25.5".
2 - The tone circuits in the guitar. I'm not intimately familiar with them, but I know that they are different from normal guitars like a Les Paul or Strat, in how theya re wired.
Hah, actually you've got a point about Leo, he was slightly deaf and couldn't hear high ends very well, hence the ultra trebley Tele.