Here goes, hopefully I can get some help here.

I bought and painted a Saga telecaster style kit. It is my first build and I wanted something already cut so I didn't have to deal with that. Basically what I wanted was some painting and wiring experience before I actually built my own guitar.

/rambling

Ok so I finished the paintjob and when I go to wire the pickups, that manual is all wrong. It says (just one example) to take the black and white wires from the rhythm pickup and . . . Guess what ? The rythm pickups has blue and yellow wires! Which one goes where?!?!?!

So I guess what I am asking is has anybody ever used these kits and come across a similiar problem? And which one do I use to go where?
Do NOT look behind you.
what kind of pickups are they? ive never used a kit like that but when i rewired one of my guitars i just looked up diagrams, found what the color codes were for my pups and went from there.
The "rhythm pickup" is just a generic single coil. No brand. Looks like any other telecaster neck pickup. Has the cover on it. Sometimes reffered to as a "lipstick" style pickup because of the tube over it.
Do NOT look behind you.
When I built a Saga telecaster, all the wiring was snap fit - is that not still the case?

I threw all the stock electrics away, and bought some decent bits instead - so I can't really tell you what the colours are, but seriously, if funds allow, buy some half tidy pickups - you really won't have to spend much to get better quality than the ones that come in the kit!
Quote by mark_wuk
When I built a Saga telecaster, all the wiring was snap fit - is that not still the case?

I threw all the stock electrics away, and bought some decent bits instead - so I can't really tell you what the colours are, but seriously, if funds allow, buy some half tidy pickups - you really won't have to spend much to get better quality than the ones that come in the kit!