I've been playing for close to 6 years now. Just bought a new guitar, Ibanez S320 and I have an EHX metal muff pedal. My amp is the worst part but that shouldn't affect it much (Fender FM212R)

Basically, pinch harmonics NEVER work for me. I've tried every technique, using thumb, finger, everything.

I have tried letting my thumb lightly brush the string right after I pick the note and having my finger tap it directly after the pick on an upstroke.

I have tried every string, on every fret, on every position over the pickups, right down the bottom of the strings etc.

Tried on 2 different guitars, 3 different amps, 2 different pedals.

What on earth is the problem? The only way I can get a sound remotely close to a pinch harmonic is by doing a "harp harmonic".
I know it must be my technique but I can't seem to find out what I could be doing wrong!

Help !
are you fretting with your left hand and not just muting? are you accidentally palm muting? is your distortion up high enough for it to sound? are you playing them are good frets for it? are you usuing high output pickups? thick strings? all these could affect it. but the way you said about letting your thumb brush the string immediatly after being plucked is the best...just keep looking for sweet spots around your pickups.
Quote by bucktheduck

Call me troll, call me psychopath. In the end, I shall stand above you all as you drown in a pool of sex and filth. It will explode your corrupted bodies, and I will walk above the wreckage as a pure man.

Quote by DieGarbageMan

Haggard13 i are impressed
hey i have the metal muff and the FM210R, the smaller brother of your amp. i think those amps have wonderful clean, but not much heavy metal-wise. (hence the metal muff)

anyway, try all the above advice from Haggard13, but start doing that on the G string, and the D, as they are the easiest strings to get pinch harmonics from to start off with, in my opinion.
Quote by Rokeman