ok guys im new to the guitar world. just got mine a few weeks ago.

it's an epiphone les paul special II. i use a marshall amp and the stock cable. i dont think those are the problem though.

so today i was playing my guitar, and i turned off the amp and unplugged it to bring it to my computer. when i was done, i brought it back to the amp, plugged it in, turned the amp on, and played. nothing. no amplification whatsover. i tried turning the amp on and off, plugging and unplugging the guitar from it, and when i did, i noticed that the amp worked when it was unplugged from the guitar. buzz came from it when i touched the cable.

so whats the problem? do i need new pickups? i have no idea what might have happened. all i know is that it seems to be the guitar. help??
is the volume on the guitar turned up?
My Gear
Guitars:
-Gibson Les Paul Studio
-Ibanez "lawsuit" Les Paul
-Ibanez S470
-PRS SE Custom

Amp:
Marshall TSL100
Marshall 1960a cab

Effects:
Dunlop 535q wah
Visual Sound Liquid Chorus

Pickups:
Guitarforce
MHD
It doesn't sound like a pick up problem, but I may be wrong, check volume settings on guitar and amp, try the guitar with a diff lead or amp.
What I want in my rig (Bold = gear I have):
Ibanez SZ-520QM
Vintage VECJ100BK
Epiphone Dot
Laney VC15
Boss GE7
Boss SD1
Zoom G2
Quote by JLT73
is the volume on the guitar turned up?

yes the knobs are all where they were when it was working, on the guitar and the amp.
well i feel like an idiot. i went and plugged it in to try your suggestions and it worked fine. thanks anyway guys!