Page 1 of 2
Yeeaaarrgh! I feel like ranting! Here are a few things that local bands/musicians do that piss me off. I'm no expert on playing and/or performing, but I know what I like and what I don't... so I'm gonna speak my mind. Feel free to share your stories, too.

1. At Live Shows, The Guitarist Plays To The Drummer
WHY?! There is an entire crowd there to see this guy play, and for the entire show, he's got his back turned to them, facing the drummer, playing for him (or her). I just don't get how or why this became "cool".

2. Bands Who Try Way Too Hard To Be "Energetic" And "Exciting"
I hate this. With a passion. You've all seen it. The bands with the guitarist who never stands still and has to run and drop kick the air every chance he gets... which results in the sloppiest guitar playing you've ever heard. Or how about the vocalist who also runs and jumps around, and then can't sing properly cause he's out of breath? If you're going to do that, hit the treadmill, fatty. (Also, if you're a, um... heavy-set dude, the tight-shirt emo look does not work for you. I'm sorry. Same with girls.)

3. Bands That Forget The Fact That They're Playing A Show... For Other People.
A lot of bands around here try to distance themselves from the "scene" kids who jump around and karate kick the air while playing sloppy riffs. They do this by being on the oposite end of the spectrum and looking totally bored while playing. Why can't anyone find a happy medium?

4. Bands Who Put Zero Effort Into Recording Their Songs