Hey guys , please bare with me. I've got a bit of story for you to read which may take some patience reading but I'm sure some of you can relate to it. I started playing the guitar when I was 14 and took to it brilliantly. It was one of the few things in life I excelled at, however I'm now 18 and am no better than what i was at 16, if anything I'm worse. My plea is for you too help me get back on track and rekindle the passion for guitar I once had.

During my first two years of playing the guitar i was blown away that by putting fingers on the fretboard in the same place as my idols i could reproduce sound similar to them. Therefore, I learnt hundreds of licks and songs which kept me content and motivated. However, learning songs only got me so far. I had a private teacher at school which i began learning theory with but then fell into the trap of begging him to teach me songs which I could have done myself.

It was here that i met my demise, i was learning new songs but getting no better. I started off with Green Day > Nirvana > AC/DC > Metallica > Guns and Roses > Iron Maiden > Racer X etc I got much better when i started learning Metallica in contrast to Green Day/Nirvana but since then im just learning songs and getting no better.

When I improvise I have a very poor knowledge of scales. I have some knowledge on the major/minor and the pentatonic/blues scales but these aren't enough any more.

I think it's obvious that i need to learn music theory, in order to understand how to improvise better, through learning scales/modes etc. To do so, surely I'd need to buy some books.

Would anyone recommend any books? I'm looking for books relevant to guitar theory not so much on how on how to read music..

I need something, whatever it is to get me back on track, learning other peoples songs is not making me better, so i need advise on how to take the next step

Books? Teacher ? Help!!?