I have been playing for like 6 or 7 years and am starting to get a lot more serious about it, and consequently better. I have always stuck to learning theory like chord progressions and scales mostly. Also I spend alot more time playing with other guitarists and other instruments than most people I know. My main flaw is I really don't learn songs, occasionally I wonder how a riff is played and learn it, but rarely the entire song. Is this really so terrible? Most people I talk to tell me this is no way to learn, but I have gotten loads better at improvising, and very comfortable playing. As I said I'm starting to get more serious, and I'm now wondering if buckling down and learning songs would be beneficial or just continuing what I know and enjoy would still allow me to progress. Any thoughts?
i think learning songs in their entirety is good moreso for the skill of songwriting and arrangement, which if you plan on writing songs that don't suck it's pretty crucial.
Nooo, it's not really so bad, it does show you how to harmonize with another guitarist, but its not gonna inhibit your playing.
It's not so bad, but being able to play all the way through a song is essential if you ever want to play live.
Quote by tubetime86
I'm starting to get more serious, and I'm now wondering if buckling down and learning songs would be beneficial

yes, it almost certainly would be a benefit. Its good ear training, it will give you a musical perspective to all the theory you have learned, and its also inspiring (assuming music inspires you).
shred is gaudy music
Last edited by GuitarMunky at Jul 21, 2008,
I find it very rewarding when I learn a new song all the way through. It's helps you to see the progress you make from all your hard work.