Hello everyone, I'm completely new here so you probably haven't seen me around.

I'd like to know your thoughts on the Fender VG Stratocaster. I currently use a MIM Arctic White Strat, but I would like to upgrade to something really nice one of these days. The VG is one I've been drooling over lately.

However, reading reviews on Harmony Central has led me to the conclusion that some people love it, and some people hate it. I'm not sure what to think. I played it briefly at Guitar Center and really liked it, but I'm not an expert.

So anyway, what do you think and more importantly, WHY?
Just played one today!!

I like the fact that its still a strat. when you need real tone, you just flip back to the reagular strat pickups. The emulations are good, and usefull, but still don't have that extra layer of tone that you get from the real guitar... all in all, it is a decent job.

The tunings are neat, and may be useful for some. i find that the tracking isn't all that good one them, which leaves pauses when switching between pickups sometimes.

Is it worth $700 over the base USA strat, NO. however, if you have the cash and absolutely want to get all these tones in one guitar, then go for it.

I would upgrade your strat pickups, and do some mods to the switching that gives you both the tele and humbucking tones. What amp/effects are you running?
My dad owns one, and I've spent many hours playing it. I don't find myself using the tunings often, but having the acoustic and the 12 string settings there makes it all worth it to me.