OK, SO! I have a squier J bass. I'm a beginner and broke, so I don't want to destroy the thing and be bass-less. It's currently my only instrument.

I like it an all, but I want something a bit... I dunno. Flashier? There are a few mods I have thought about that I could make to it without REALLY spending any money... I think.

SO! I need help!

Question #1=
I want to take some rusted old sheet-metal and make a new pick-guard for this bad boy. Would the metal guard screw with the pick-ups or sound?

Question #2=
How hard would it be to repaint this thing and put it back together? I want an olive-drab type deal going on for the body... I think. I may use a brown or tan once I try the pick-guard on. Either way, I want it kinda flat, maybe even slightly see through so you can still see the wood grain! That would be bad-A! How would I do that?

Question #3=
How hard is it to get/make new control nobs for this?

Question #4=
On old Bass, I have seen a chrome-ish metal sheild that arches over the pickups... What does that do, and how can I make one?

Question #5=
Can I use regular dark wood stain on the neck?

Question #6=
I want a special inlay on the 13th fret... How hard would this be to do?
Art is Vice. You don't marry it legitimately, you rape it...
-Edgar Degas
Quote by Tone Deaf
Question #1=
I want to take some rusted old sheet-metal and make a new pick-guard for this bad boy. Would the metal guard screw with the pick-ups or sound?
yes.

Quote by Tone Deaf
Question #2=
How hard would it be to repaint this thing and put it back together? I want an olive-drab type deal going on for the body... I think. I may use a brown or tan once I try the pick-guard on. Either way, I want it kinda flat, maybe even slightly see through so you can still see the wood grain! That would be bad-A! How would I do that?
tinted clear satin lacquer.

Quote by Tone Deaf
Question #3=