Hello,

Recently i read a bit about chords and scales. I found out a C major chord is made of
C E G notes. When I open my beginners chord book it makes a C major chord of C E C. I don't understand this.
I know it's a C E G. But everywhere I look they play it as a C E C: B string first fret, D string second fret and A string 3rd fret while I would assume it would be B string first fret, D string second fret and E string 3rd fret.
I don't understand your explanation. I made the C major scale C D E F G A B C. I took the first, third and 5th note and I find C E G which is a major triad because it's the first i took of that scale. I don't understand what the A C E has to do with it.
I am not an expert but I think your G is coming from your open G string so you have your C (5th string) E (4th string) open G (3rd string) C (2nd string) open e (1st string) so you see you have C E G but you are only fretting C E C
My Gear

Schecter Gryphon with Seymour Duncan JB Bridge and Jazz Neck PU's
Fender Superchamp XD Amp
Bad Monkey Pedal
Quote by Chiller2
I am not an expert but I think your G is coming from your open G string so you have your C (5th string) E (4th string) open G (3rd string) C (2nd string) open e (1st string) so you see you have C E G but you are only fretting C E C

This person speaks the truth. If you're playing a open C major you have to play the G string as well.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
ok... i get that C E G thing but i dont understand the part about the second and first string
You strum five strings for an C chord from the 5th string to the first string you can have more than one of the notes that make up the cord the C has two C 's and two E's along with the G