Poll: What do you think of the design overall? (practicality, comfortability, etc)
Poll Options
View poll results: What do you think of the design overall? (practicality, comfortability, etc)
1 - Not that great.
14 23%
4 7%
4 7%
2 3%
5 - It is okay.
4 7%
3 5%
11 18%
5 8%
2 3%
10 - Make this guitar already!
11 18%
Voters: 60.
An old friend of mine and I just got together and decided that we will design and make custom guitars. Keep in mind that we are 16-17-ish and still in high school, but my friend's skills of carpentry are excellent and I have been drawing lots of blueprints and characters since I was 4 (I'm an artist, in other words).

Well, my first inspiration was a panda eating bamboo. If you click on the link below, you'll see a guitar layout of this theme guitar with 5 possible headstocks for it (I picked the headstocks because they seemed to fit the bamboo theme).

http://i37.tinypic.com/jqhtfc.jpg

Okay, so here's what I want you guys of UG.com to do:
Since this is my first time designing a guitar, I do NOT want you to sugarcoat this, please be as critical as you can, so I can better myself.
Also, talk about the possibility of this design being do-able or practical, maybe some changes to make, etc.

I really want to hear from you!
I've never built a guitar, but that looks really hard. :P

If you do pull this off though, I think the PRS headstock would look the best.
Stick with this idea and go with it, you have the basic concept!
PRS looks the best, I agree.
Jackson King V KVX10
Line 6 Spider III 75 W.
Peavey 5150/6505 Combo to be owned at the end of 2010.
It's a really great idea, but it is in no way practical. The neck is lumpy...

For show, this would be a good design if it turned out really well. But for playing, no.

The best headstock would probably be first one.

If you want it to look really really nice, you could give the panda some definition.
Plays:
Schecter Hellraiser Solo-6 FR Limited
Parker Mojo Fly
Ibanez SZR 720
Tanglewood Evolution