Ok, I was messing with the action on my Peavey Raptor Plus EXP, because I have fret buzz, and Im afraid of screwing with my truss rod. So I was changing the action with an allen wrench, and the saddles are all stripped (I guess it was whoever set it up) So now I cant change the action. Does anyone have any tips, or something? Should I get new saddles, and hope for better luck? What should I do? (Sorry, Im a noob at these things)
Also when raising the action, should all of the strings be about even? And will changing the action mess up my intonation? (I think my intonation is off a little bit anyway)
If this is the wrong place to put this, just tell me. I would just like these things cleared up so I can learn these things.
EDIT: so is screwing with the back of the saddles what screws up intonation, or is it changing the action?
Last edited by AlskiOverload at Jul 22, 2008,
Don't be afraid of your truss rod. fret the first fret and the 14th fret. while holding those two frets at the same time, look at your 6th fret. if there is a gap there, tighten the truss rod. if the strings are touching the fret, loosen the rod. just do it gently, and at about a quarter turn at a time. DO NOT USE THE TRUSS ROD AS A FORM OF ACTION ADJUSTMENT. It's to correct neck bowing.

As for action,it's kind of a personal preference on height, but if you're lookin' to go low, as most guitarists are, lower the strings to you're desired height by loosening the screws in the saddle. To check if you can get away with you're chosen height start by playing the string open, then progressively work your way up the neck fretting each note on the string. as you work your way down listen for buzzes. if you hear one, raise the action by tightening the two screws on the saddle just a little bit at a time, til the buzz is gone, then proceed for each fret.