I know these threads are probably a nuisance, but I'm pretty uninformed about guitars and I need some help making a decision about which one to buy. I've been playing for about six months on a borrowed guitar. I'm trying to teach myself. I listen to mostly metal, and really that's what I want to get into as a player, and folk maybe, but I'm not really even sure what exactly folk is.

Anyway, my budget is around $250. I've narrowed it down for no real reasons to a really nicked-up old ibanez rg470, a nicked-up old jackson dk2, an ibanez rg321mh, and an ibanez rgt42 though this one might be out of my price range. Really, I just want one that is a nice quality, that's nice to play, that'll last me a while, and probably other concerns that I'm not aware of. Thanks.
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Squier-Hello-Kitty-Stratocaster-Electric-Guitar?sku=512071&src=3SOSWXXA

FTW

but, furrealz, if you want something that is at the top of your price range, just wait a little longer. i know you said you're on a borrowed guitar, but if possible i say wait out for the Ibanez.
Quote by Crimzin3
The Myth: Mesa amps were given to us by God, and sound as such.
The Truth: True. God is the CEO and Jesus does QC at Mesa...yup.

I would buy rg321mh. It has a fixed bridge which is useful for metal as you'll want to switch between tunings a lot and if you buy a floyd rose like me you'll have a pretty hard time. It is also really comfortable to play.
Let's go back to five billion bpm and see how good i am.
I wouldn't get anything with a Floyd Rose, because it's your 1st guitar, and Floyds are fairly difficult to maintain. Get an Ibanez RG321. It has a Wizard II neck, and those are supposedly the easiest to shred on. Plus it has a fixed bridge, which allows you to switch tunings without much of a hassle.