So, i've been using a starter pack yamaha for a while, but recently i've been thinking, I need a new guitar.

I've actually "performed," for a couple of friends and I guess it was okay, songs weren't too hard if you compare them to what people usually play, but now i'm starting to think I need to get an acoustic-electric if i'm going to play at school next year.

So i'm thinking, for my birthday (which is in January, long way I know) I want to split the cost with my parents to get a very nice, acoustic-electric. Well, maybe my budget isn't that great; around 600 but it's subject to grow depending on how much I save; but i'm a high school student. My parents aren't too fond of this guitar idea, but they still know I need a new guitar.

I'm going to split the cost with them; so I have until now to January.. to get a guitar of my choice but I want to have sort of a good idea. I play for church, and usually mellow acoustic songs; you know.. the Gabe Bondac, kind.

A friend who loves guitars tells me Takamines are the way to go, but I need to open my eyes to EVERYTHING to get the best things I can. When I go to Guitar Center that weekend on my birthday, i'll have a list ready to try them all out. So, I wait for your responses.
will this mainly be used plugged in? If so go for Ovation, they sound amazing plugged in but not as good unplugged.
make Industrial and/or experimental electronic music? Join my group!

Last.fm
I'd recommend you start looking at/trying different guitars now (or soon) rather than when you're planning to actually buy. That way you'll have had time to figure out what you like, which guitars feel good to you, etc. Better than showing up at the store in January and rushing a decision or something.
Gear:
Fender MIM HSS Stratocaster
Some random Yamaha acoustic
VOX amPlug AC30