I posted a personal ad on a free website for musicians searching for jobs and a person already responded. Our first band practice is this Sunday at the Rock Center in downtown. Everything is professional.

The thing is I don't feel like I am good enough to be in a band yet, as I have only been playing guitar for 2 month now. Plus they want us to bring our own equipment to practice and all I got is my guitar and a cheap Marshall practice amp. I've been going over the music they provided (CD's were given so we learn the parts before practice) and it's fairly simple alternative rock stuff. I can play it all on power chords and it sounds fine. The lead parts are pretty slow and simple too. But I'm afraid they will be like, don't play power chords then I will be screwed because I'm not very good at switching regular chords or whatever you call them. Also, the other band members have a lot more experience and have been playing music a lot longer than myself. I'm afraid they will think I am complete crap and humilate me.

Am I jumping into this too fast?

Plus I kind of feel like a sell out, because none of this is my music and it feels meaningless.
Last edited by Derk4397 at Jul 23, 2008,
perhaps. just don't get raped if it ends up to be a hoax to lure you somewhere
Epiphone G-400
Yamaha Pacifica (Mod on hold due to procrastination)
Rocktron Banshee
Marshall 10CD

Quote by geetarguy13

I've never smoked before but it looks like fun.
I would say that what they're looking for is confidence, as well as skill. If you can show them that you can have fun while you're playing, and play well, they might like you. Also, see if you can improv a lick for them.

^ don't be a pussy. This guy seems legit.
Tbh, if your gonna be playing lead, I would not go for it.

Rhythym, maybe.

Two months is something, but not alot to be going professional, unless you were like actually amazing.
Gear.

Ibanez Iceman IC400.

And Daron Malakians custom triangle pick.

Thats all you need to know.