On self-taught guitarist?

i taught myself how to play guitar about..3 or 4 years ago.
i think im rather good for having 0 lessons...
but i dont think being self taught will get me as good as want to be...

i think these are a few self taught guitarists..

Stevie Ray Vaughan
Jimmi Hendrix
BB King
Carlos Santana

..but if they were self taught...how'd they get so damn good?!

*sorry if im in the wrong forum...
Practice. Steve Ray and Jimmy both pretty much flunked all school. Not sure about BB and Santana, though the second learned to play violin when he was young so he's not 100% self taught.

Practice is the key.
Stevie Ray Vaughan
Jimmi Hendrix
BB King

Those are three of the better / best blues / blues rock guitar players ever.

A connection?

Play the blues! :p

on a more serious note - They probably learned from friends, or they may have read some books. They also probably studied the licks / solos / riffs that their favourite guitarists played, and figured out the techniques they used, and then used it for themselves.

I am also self taught, most of my friends that have taken lessons, are too useless / lazy to help me out, so I've learned the majority of my theory / scales through the internet, and random people on UG have answered my questions / given me pointers.
Being self-taught is stupid.

I've been self/UG taught for the past 4 years
“Science cannot solve the ultimate mystery of nature. And that is because, in the last analysis, we ourselves are part of nature and therefore part of the mystery that we are trying to solve.”

-Max Planck

☮∞☯♥
im self taught, i consider myself good

i learned everything from watching people play, and playing with other people.. while i havent had one teacher, i've learned how to play by surrounding myself with musicians. This website helps alot too, the users in the music theory section are very helpful

im sure hours of just playing by myself in my room throughout highschool helped too
Quote by confusius