i have been reading alot of the music theory faq guide but im a litte confused in certain aspects and dont really know what concepts i should be trying to grasp first basically im a total noob

im trying to understand scales and chords since i want to be able to jam with friends or make my own songs so any advice in how to achieve this be greatly appreciated

im not sure how i should be learning scales

should i learn then by patterns? the dots on the fretboard
by intervals? (WWHWWWH) this for the major scale
or by the notes? lets take for example C major
C D E F G A and B

then i got a question in this formula type of thing how the hell do you read this things or what the hell are this hieroglyphs ?

Ionian: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Dorian: 1 2 b3 4 5 6 b7
Phrygian: 1 b2 b3 4 5 b6 b7
Lydian: 1 2 3 #4 5 6 7
Mixolydian: 1 2 3 4 5 6 b7
Aeolian: 1 2 b3 4 5 b6 b7
Locrian: 1 b2 b3 4 b5 b6 b7

the only thing i know so far is the scales degrees memorized but i dont know how do you apply them or why is important to know whats the tonic or the submediant maybe you guys can explain me a little about them

im trying to understand modes as well let use the example you guys had in the musician theory faq guide

C major: C D E F G A B i know dorian mode starts from the D note so it will go like this D E F G A B do i just take the C note out? or do more notes follow im confused as hell

any help is appreciated i hope i explained myself clearly
my english is crap
my guitar stuff:
ESP JH-600
ValveKing 112
DigiTech Whammy Pedal
Taylor 314CE
Dunlop SW-95 Slash Wah Pedal
Cordoba C7 Nylon String Acoustic Guitar
Metal muff
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster Ash
learnt he major scale and key inside and out

modes can be very confusing and recommend knowing themajor completely before moving on
first off, i must say your english is really not that bad.

now onto theory... MUAHHAHAHAHA