So I have some problems here....

(sorry for length)
*scrolled down so you wouldn't see squier and ignore this *
My guitar (squier strat), was perfectly fine up until I changed strings today. I took all the strings off to clean the fretboard, then put some Blue Steel 10's on it (it previously had ernie ball super slinkies on it). I used the 'lock tuning method' where you pull the string under itself and it pinches itself to hold tune. I thought I did decent at it, but then I find out my strings had developed fret buzz all over. I thought that could be the problem, so I put a capo on the first fret. It still was buzzing, and because of the capo, it couldn't be the tuning pegs, right?

So next I raise the individual string height. These puppies are almost all the way off they are so high, and yet it's still buzzing . For kicks I lower it way down also. Still buzz.

I move on to the truss rod. I'm no expert in this thing, but common sense says don't move it too much and/or force it (and I didn't). I'm fairly certain that there is a slight concave (middle lower then ends) curve. Would it hurt to loosen the truss rod even more? When I measured the ____ (forget the term) from 1st fret to last fret, I could fit a credit card in there at the 8th fret and that supposedly is about the proper fit.

The obvious answer is take it to a tech. I'll probably end up doing this... but, I'm hoping someone could share some tidbit of info I havn't found in my netwide search (I have looked well, and stuff isn't working)
Last edited by oggiedoggy at Jul 23, 2008,
is ur bridge still level with the body of the guitar?
Jenneh

Quote by TNfootballfan62
Jenny needs to sow her wild oats with random Gibsons and Taylors she picks up in bars before she settles down with a PRS.

Set up Questions? ...Q & A Thread

Recognised by the Official EG/GG&A/GB&C WTLT Lists 2011
fret the low E at the first fret, at the same time,