I'm having some trouble deciding what i want to do and was wondering if I could get some feedback from UG. I've been playing guitar for 3 years, violin for 7, and piano for 5, and I've starting composing and taking theory lessons. I really have a passion for music and I would love to go into it but my parents keep trying to turn me away from it because my mom is a composer and she says unless I get lucky I will have a hard time making any money at all and she thinks I would do better in science. I'm 16 btw as a point of reference.

In some ways I agree with her because I know from meeting some famous jazz guitarists that it is a very hard field and i do also have a high interest in science but nothing like music. What do you guys say on this subject? Would going into composition and guitar performance be good and teaching on the side while I right, if I can even get a teaching job. Or would majoring in something else be better while music be something I work at and hope someday it might take me somewhere? I'm just asking out of curiosity I'm not necessarily coming to the Pit for career advice haha :P
music doesnt always lead to a successful career, but i will say it could be the source of much happiness
I see no sign of fortress.
if you dont do what makes you happy, then you'll never be happy.
if i were you i would give lessons and do session work until your own stuff gets some serious attenion.
Emerse your soul in love

You used to be alright What happened?

Yellow tigers crouched in jungles in her Dark Eyes .
True success is measured by satisfaction and reward, not monetary income.

I'll just leave it at that.

...modes and scales are still useless.

Quote by PhoenixGRM
Hey guys could you spare a minute to Vote for my band. Go to the site Search our band Listana with CTRL+F for quick and vote Thank you .
Quote by sam b
Voted for Patron Çıldırdı.

Thanks
Quote by PhoenixGRM
But our Band is Listana