hi. i'm a 21 years old guitarist. i think i have gained morderately enough speed for the type of music im interested in playing. for example i can play the solo of tornado of souls(megadeth) or the track altitude (jason becker) fairly well.

but the problem is... i never worked out in my life and im underwaight with no muscles at all . im thinking about starting a little work out in the gym (3 days a week about 1.5 hours each session) but i've heard that if i start working out, my guitar playing ability will degrade since the muscles start to stiffen up.

what should i do? is this really a serious issue? i mean i'm more into shredding and which means i have to keep up my shredding speed . whats the best method for working out while keeping up the steady pace for learning to play guitar?

thanks a lot
Tanvir
That's a load of crap. Just play consistently, and you'll fine just like everyone else. If you don't play that often, you'll start losing it like everyone else.
ok who ever told you that is retard.... sure i might not be able to shred as well as you most likely but workin out in the gym wont effect your playing in anyway possible. so just forget what they told you and jus dont worry about it
You know you're loved when someone breaks a guitar over your leg and everyone's more concerned about the guitar than you.

Quote by Fiire
^total philosopher
I do alot of lifting (however, I'm off due to injury) and I really, I haven't had a problem with it. I think the problem only comes in when you've been lifting for a super long time, and you're pretty huge muscular-wise. I know George Lynch had a problem with it when he was seriously into weights.

My best suggestion would be to keep working out, and keep playing guitar. If you feel too much tension, loosen up, play with less tension and whatnot. Its not really a serious issue me thinks and for the most part, it could be a myth.
DANNY

Quote by kevinm4435 to some guy