Ok, I know how to build triads, 7ths and on, suspended chords and all of that but I have a question with triads.

Say you have a chord with an E,G#, and D#. Now a normal Emaj triad would be E-G#-B, but since there is no 5th in my example, would my example still be considered an Emaj7 even though it has no 5th?

Same thing with no 3rd. Say this time the chord has an E,B, and D#. It has the root, 5th, and 7th this time. So would it still be considered a Emaj7 chord here also?

So if anyone understands my question, can you please tell me if I am right or not?
Quote by Seryaph
You need to douse it in a 20/30/50 ratio of mustard/ketchup/horseradish and stroke it as fast as you can untill the mayonaise squirts out. Then consume.
as far as i know, you always need a 5th if you are playing a 7th, 9th, 11th so on so forth chord. I think you might not need a 3rd though... i'm not an expert by any means though
Quote by Mr. La Fritz

Squirrels are fluffy bits of gay.

Quote by LordPino
My penis is so big it has its own hands.
Quote by GITARdud391
I'm pretty sure that can exist, I've seen chords like that before they just say Emaj7(no 5th).

Also you need the third to state the tonality of the chord-major or minor.

err, no you don't NEED it. 5th chords?

you do get just 7ths as well as maj and min 7ths.
Quote by Mr. La Fritz

Quote by LordPino
Quote by dark_gilbert
as far as i know, you always need a 5th if you are playing a 7th, 9th, 11th so on so forth chord.

No, the fifth is tonally the least important note.

TS: You can call them by various names; it's going to be largely the context that determines what name makes the most sense.
Quote by dark_gilbert

A "regular" 7th chord is a dominant 7th chord, clearly defined as having a major third and minor seventh.

TS, you don't need all the notes in the chord, especially when you get to heavily extended chords. You just need enough to get the tonality that you want.
Quote by GITARdud391
What's a 5th chord?

/facepalm