I'm not exactily sure if this is the right place for this or not, but I here it goes XD
I've been playing guitar since December 2007 now and I was wondering if the problems I'm having are normal for someone who has been playing for about 8 months (not solidly mindyou, but close too it, maybe take a week or two off from playing) ANYWHOO I was wondering if these problems are normal and if anyone can offer me any tips on how to improve:
1) I still have problems changing open chords when C major is thrown into the mix. The other chords I can do with relative ease (sometimes I mess up here and there but its getting better). Barre chords are also causing me a problem (but I haven't spent as much on switching from open to barre so that can be solved through more practice)
2) I still have a problem when it comes to playing chords that require strings to be silent (I.E. D maj. I will hit the strings that should stay silent). Normally on slower songs I can avoid this pretty well (it still happens but again human) but as soon as I play something that requires a bit of speed then well it kinda turns messy.
3) this part is somewhat embarrassing but when it comes to strum upwards there are times when I miss the strings. this part is especially frustrating because I figure that by 8 months I should at least know how to strum up and down. yes I know this one is just pathetic but still :P

I know a lot of these problems can be solved with a buttload of practice but is there anyone who had the same problems as me? after (call it 5 months perhaps) of solid practice, is it really acceptable for me to be having these problems or am I just a lost cause and should give up guitar? I really do love playing it and honestly the determination to learn Guitar is there, but I am somewhat worried that I'm also just a lost cause when it comes to this instrument
sorry for the long wall of text, and thank you for any comments/tips you can offer