Its kinda a slow-ish eastern sounding riff that i chanced across, i want to add to it so would like to know what scale it might have been built around. Thanks.

e ----7--6--------6--7--7/9---6-----6------------------------------
b ----------9--9-----------------9------7----7/11--10--9---7--9--7----
g ------------------------------------------------------------------9
E F F# G# A A#

More chromatic than anything I know of.

Hey guys! I just started playing electric guitar should I get a Gabson Lay Pall or a Femdor Startokaster. I like the picks on the gabsons but i like how sweet femdors look. Beforre i get a gabson what company makes them?
Edit: While everything I said is true, I think it would be best used over an Emaj7 chord.

Everything fits in the B major scale except that A note, 10 on the B string. You could use it over a B major chord.

However, you could also use it over an F#7 chord for a bluesy sound. You'll want to add an extra F# note to the end of that lick, though, to make it resolved.

WARNING: MODE CONTENT

The notes of the B major scale over a F# or F#7 chord is F# mixolydian. The combination of the mixolydian scale with the minor third and diminished fifth is very common in the blues. This is often called the hybrid blues scale and it is a the combination of the mixolydian and blues scales. So...the combination of the F# mixolydian sound and the little bit of F# blues via the A note (the minor third) would be great as an F# blues lick over an F#7 chord in an F# blues. However, F# isn't a common key, so I suggest moving everything up a fret and playing over a G blues.

Another alternative is to play that exact lick (not up a fret) over an Emaj7 chord for an E Lydian sound.
Last edited by bangoodcharlote at Jul 26, 2008,
Quote by bangoodcharlote