Epiphone les paul studio through randall g3. I play metal primarily and I definitely want clarity in shredding. However i like to clean it up now and then so a little versatility would be ideal. How terrible of an idea would Evolutions be? I almost feel embarassed for asking.

And before you say it, yes i know my guitar is not exactly built for metal. What can I say? I'm a typical broke musician.

Oh and EMG's are out of the question.

Thx
I'd stay away from the evolutions

try

Bridge - Dimarzio Super Distortion
Neck - Dimarzio Breed
My Gear
Guitars:
-Gibson Les Paul Studio
-Ibanez "lawsuit" Les Paul
-Ibanez S470
-PRS SE Custom

Amp:
Marshall TSL100
Marshall 1960a cab

Effects:
Dunlop 535q wah
Visual Sound Liquid Chorus

Pickups:
Guitarforce
MHD
If you want to have that active pickup sound minus the battery and running out of headroom which creates peaks in volumes and compression check out the Dimarzio D Activators. They're great for metal. They sound a lot like active pickups but can do great cleans and are passive. there's a vid on youtube from guitarworld if u wanna check them out.
Originally Posted by evening_crow
Quoting yourself is cool.

WARNING: I kill threads.
Quote by JLT73
Bridge - Dimarzio Super Distortion

I was always afraid that any pickup that has the word "distortion" in the name would have terrible cleans. I guess I don't use the bridge pup too much for cleans but still, it's nice to know that if i need to I can. Maybe I'm wrong, i dunno.

Quote by evening_crow
If you want to have that active pickup sound minus the battery and running out of headroom which creates peaks in volumes and compression check out the Dimarzio D Activators. They're great for metal. They sound a lot like active pickups but can do great cleans and are passive. there's a vid on youtube from guitarworld if u wanna check them out.