Ok, i'm stuck. Really stuck.

I'm new to the whole song writing process as I just been playing Bands Tabs for years. I'm tired of that and started writing my own stuff. I wrote a Riff but now am completely stuck on where to go with it, I know how I'd want it to sound, but it's just not happening.

My Question is where would I go from here? I was thinking write down all the notes I'm playing and try and figure out what Scale I'm in? And by doing that Google "Chord Shapes" and play those notes as Chords in different variations?

I have no clue how people go from writing a song from a riff, any help is much appreciated.

- - -

Can you find a Songs Key in GP5 from the Tab some how, by something thats built in? Just a thought...
Quote by burrrandon
My Question is where would I go from here? I was thinking write down all the notes I'm playing and try and figure out what Scale I'm in? And by doing that Google "Chord Shapes" and play those notes as Chords in different variations?

Do this. Once you know what key you're in, you can fool around with notes that are actually in key and when you stumble across some that you like, stick with it. As times goes on, you'll become more familiar with song structure and be more comfortable with playing in key. It will come easier in time.
█████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████
Portugal. The Man »–
Ok, lets say I find the Key I'm in, How would I go about adding Chords to it, if that makes sense... it's sorta hard to explain. Uhm, Say I was in the Key of C, do I just look up C chords so I can get ones that sound fuller etc... and add those to the song, and maybe play some C octaves in there aswell, I'm probably confusing you big time bro...
Quote by burrrandon