So ive decided to join our high school's jazz band this year, and ive run into a bit of a problem. They gave me some music to practice from "Bye bye blackbird" "belhaven blues" and a couple other pieces. I learned all the chord shapes and am confident i can shift between all the weird shapes pretty easily (ive been playing for around 5 years). Well i just dont know what to do with my picking hand. ive heard of "comping" but im not sure what it is.

So.. is there any certain picking/strumming technique i should use to play these songs? im not planning on being an incredible jazz guitarist, but i want to hold my part well.
I haven't ever been taught any techniques, but I like to alternately pick a bass note with my thumb and then the other notes with my fingers.
It's Only Rock and Roll, But I like It
Comping means accompanying. If your jazz band has alot of people, I would just play some straightforwards rhythms with quarter and eigth notes. If its a small group, I would learn a few different voicings for each chord, and also do some more interesting rhythms that work around the melody of the tune, so you have more options to work with. Sometimes the charts they give you have some suggested rhythms, but just do whatever you think sounds good and fits in with the rest of the band.

Also just start listening to jazz, try Count Basie for the jazz band context. Freddie Green is his guitarist.
Quote by allislost
I would say that aetherspear speaks nothing but the truth.
UG Blues Group
UG Reggae & Dub Group
Need Professional Mixing for cheap? Need Vinyl to Digital Transfers? PM Me.
Last edited by aetherspear at Jul 27, 2008,
I normally just play straight quarters and try to switch it up occasionally. If the song has a rhythm written in, then I'll play that instead.

Quote by aetherspear
Also just start listening to jazz, try Count Basie for the jazz band context. Freddie Green is his guitarist.