I've been playing for about 9 months, and I'm just curious if you should learn all the patterns of a scale. It just seems like a lot of memorizing to me ...
just start off learning major and minor and then experiment with them and try to get a full understanding on how they work than go on to learning more
"Men profess to be lovers of music, but for the most part they give no evidence in their opinions and lives that they have heard it." ~Henry David Thoreau
no don't waste your time learning patterns, LEARN THE THEORY of contructing scales and where the notes of the chromatic scale are located, this way you can make up your own patterns of how and where to play the scale
Quote by dxtreme
no don't waste your time learning patterns, LEARN THE THEORY of contructing scales and where the notes of the chromatic scale are located, this way you can make up your own patterns of how and where to play the scale

Agreed.
Quote by Slashed_Tire
Agreed.

agreedtimestwo
*Guitars*

Fender Standard Strat

Ibanez DT155

Ibanez RG2EX1

*Amps*

Peavey Classic 50

*Effects*

Boss MT2 Metal Zone

Danelectro Fab Chorus

Danelectro Fab Flanger
Patterns are useless unless you know how to construct them in your own original songs. Jamming them out is also a solid next step. But, learning the theory behind what you are playing is probably more effecient; try doing both.
thanks, do you know any websites or books that i can use to help me with learning that theory
yes here tell me what scales you wanna learn?

ill start you off with this
major : 1-2-3-4-5-6-7
major penta : 1-2-3-5-6
minor penta : 1-b3-4-5-b7

to use these this is what you do

lets say you wanna play in key of C in a major scale ionian mode

c (1,2,3,4,5,6,7)
c,d,e,f,g,a,b
There is a great theory lesson on this site, it's about 20 pages of gold.

http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/lessons/for_beginners/learning_music_theory_the_beginning.html

There you go, as you try and read it, make sure you are understanding what you are reading.