I've been playing guitar for two years, but all of that has been on an acoustic. I'm looking to get into the electric arena.

I'm not wanting to spend more than $500 on the guitar itself, and looks are somewhat important: I want something smooth and clean in design. However, looks aren't as important as sound. I play a lot of blues and alternative music so I want something clean and strong. Any suggestions?

Some I've been looking at myself:
The classic Fender Stratocaster.
Epiphone Les Paul
Guitars:
Ibanez M310 (Flamed Maple body, Mahogany neck, Rosewood fretboard)
Fender Gemini I
Last edited by MayerMimic at Jul 28, 2008,
I gotta say go with the Les Paul. In my opinion it has more versatility, and a warmer sound. It can get the extremes better than a strat. It can go really heavy, and also have nice warm cleans. The strat has a much more twangy sound.
Why don't you just get the Standard HSS Strat (Fat Strat)? I'd say les paul, but i'm in it just for the looks of it and the HH configuration.... and i've already got a fender. If it's your first electric, i'd say the the Standard Fat Strat, it costs just as much as that one in your post, but more versatile. and also, i've heard nothing but good from them as a first electric. It would probably fit your style pretty well, too.

Is there anyway you can try them out?
O O

___
Last edited by TheBax at Jul 28, 2008,
Quote by TheBax
Why don't you just get the Standard HSS Strat (Fat Strat)? I'd say les paul, but i'm in it just for the looks of it and the HH configuration.... and i've already got a fender. If it's your first electric, i'd say the the Standard Fat Strat, it costs just as much as that one in your post, but more versatile. and also, i've heard nothing but good from them as a first electric. It would probably fit your style pretty well, too.

Is there anyway you can try them out?

I'm planning on taking a trip up to my local Guitar Center to play with them, but I'm looking to get some opinions first...