I love my classic 30. It is still stock, but it sounds so much better than most solid state amps I've heard, and played on, and put on the clean channel it really inspires you to practice. Until it starts rattling...

Unfortunately as of a few months ago it has started making this usual ringing whenever I play a G chord, as if there is something rattling inside the amp, or speaker, or perhaps something going wrong within the tube. It's as if the particular vibrations of the G chord generate this extra noise in the amp. We thought at first, it was the little metal tube holders, that held the tubes in place, rattling against the tubes.

Because I am new to tube amps, and tinkering with my guitars in general, and I had read, that with the right mods a Classic 30 can be made to sound quite good. If I can get the right advice I'd have no problem working on my own amp, but I am very much afraid of ruining something nice because I didn't know what I was doing.

I read some of the reviews on this website, and saw that a lot of people had changed out their speakers, and their tubes in this amp to generate a better sound. Unfortunately their opinions tend to vary a bit, and I am not sure what I should do with my amp. I don't know where to find the amp's speakers, or after market tubes, and am hoping, someone on this site might be able to point me in the right direction.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
The amp shouldn't rattle. Take it to a shop and get it checked out. As far as changing speakers and tubes, check the "Classic 30, the last amp you will ever own" thread. That should be helpful to you.
I'm not exactly doing so hot with money at the moment, so I'm hoping whatever might need to be done, I can do myself with enough reading.
The rattling you're hearing is the tubes vibrating. Classic 30s have this problem. You'll either get used to it or you'll lose your mind.

This Guy is Stupid.
|
\/
Driven,