I have been playing acoustic guitar for about seven months now and I want to start playing electric guitar. I am willing to spend about $600 total for a guitar and amp. I play classic rock, blues, and rock. Any suggestions would be much appreciated..Thanks!
you are probably going to want a guitar and a amp, so for a guitar I suggest either a fender strat made in mexico, or a epiphone, or if you want and I don't suggest this you can buy a higher leval guitar like a cheap gibson or a PRS SE and get a small amp now and then get a big amp very soon. Your best bet is to probably try a high end fender and gibson, and see what you like more so you know what you are aiming to play, then buy the cheap end of that either the MIM fender or the epiphone, then buy a amp such as a Peavey, Marshall, or Fender.
My Gear
PRS SE Custom
Fender Standard Customized Fat Strat
Baby Taylor Acoustic
Peavey Valveking 212
Boss SOD-1
Boss DD-3
Dunlop Crybaby
Peavey Channel Selector
Fender 25R practice amp
Last edited by jking948 at Jul 28, 2008,
Try a few guitar out at your local guitar shop, see what you like. For those style I'd recommend a Strat, Les Paul or PRS
Have a look on www.rondomusic.com, they do some cheap but great quality guitars and I'd seriously recommend one from there
As for an amp, the best cheap amp would be a Roland Cube, but look to upgrade that soon (Peavey CLassic 30 would be an ideal upgrade)
ohai little sig.
fender does make some nice, cheap guitars. look at spending 5 or 600 on the guitar, and getting a crappy combo amp temporarily.
you could get a little practice amp for under $50, used. a hundred is more than enough to get a decent new one.
i might also reccomend getting a little multi effects, like the digitech things. they're really crappy, but you'll be able to try different effects, so you get used to playing with them. after all, that can be one of the coolest parts about playing with an electric.